The Ascended Masters – An Introduction

What are the Ascended Masters - An Introduction

In various spiritual traditions and new-age beliefs, Ascended Masters are beings who have attained a higher level of spiritual evolution and mastery beyond the cycle of birth and death.

Ascended Masters have lived as human beings on Earth. During their life, they achieved a state of enlightenment and then ascended to a higher realm of existence. They are spiritual teachers and guides who offer their wisdom and guidance to humanity from higher dimensions.

The Origins of Ascended Masters

Various spiritual traditions, including Hinduism, Buddhism, and Theosophy, have recognized the concept of Ascended Masters for centuries. In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, the Theosophical Society popularized the term to refer to a hierarchy of spiritual guides who led humanity’s evolution.

The discovery of Ascended Masters came from a lady called Madame Blavatsky, also known as Helena Petrovna Blavatsky; she was a Russian occultist and mystic who founded the Theosophical Society in 1875. She said she was in contact with a group of spiritual beings known as the “Masters of the Ancient Wisdom” or “Ascended Masters.” Furthermore, she cited her extensive spiritual experiences as evidence of their existence and their influence on humanity.


Blavatsky claimed that highly evolved spiritual beings, known as Ascended Masters, had achieved enlightenment and transcended the cycle of reincarnation. Furthermore, she believed they acted as guardians and teachers of esoteric knowledge and communicated with humans through telepathy and other psychic means.

Blavatsky claimed to have received much of her knowledge from these Masters, and her teachings drew heavily from Eastern mysticism, particularly Hinduism and Buddhism. She believed that a set of spiritual laws governed the universe and that the ultimate goal of humanity was to achieve spiritual evolution and reunite with the divine.

Ascended Masters Today

The Ascended Masters continue to play a prominent role in the teachings of the Theosophical Society and other New Age and esoteric groups. While there is no scientific evidence to support the existence of these Masters, they remain an important part of many spiritual traditions and continue to inspire and guide many people on their spiritual paths.

Blavatsky’s teachings on the Ascended Masters and other esoteric topics were compiled into her seminal work, “The Secret Doctrine,” published in 1888. The book explores the nature of reality, the origins of the universe, and the evolution of humanity from a spiritual perspective.

Blavatsky’s ideas had a significant impact on the development of the New Age movement and other esoteric traditions. The Theosophical Society she founded continues to exist today, with branches around the world. Other groups that draw on her teachings include the Anthroposophical Society, the Arcane School, and the Summit Lighthouse.

Controversies of Ascended Masters

Critics of Blavatsky and the Theosophical Society have questioned the validity of her claims about the Ascended Masters and the source of her spiritual knowledge. Some have accused her of fraud, arguing that she fabricated much of her mystical experiences and teachings. In contrast, others have criticized her for appropriating and misrepresenting aspects of Eastern spirituality in her work.

Despite the controversies surrounding Blavatsky and the Ascended Masters, they remain important figures in the history of Western esotericism and continue to influence spiritual seekers around the world today. Her teachings and her work have had a lasting impact on Western spirituality and continue to inspire people like myself to explore the mysteries of the universe and the nature of the human spirit.

Blavatsky not only taught about the Ascended Masters but also advocated for spiritualism. This movement gained popularity in the late 19th century and involved communicating with the spirits of the dead. She claimed to have witnessed numerous instances of supernatural phenomena, including levitation, telekinesis, and materialization of objects.

Blavatsky’s work was also influential in the development of the modern feminist movement, as she was an early advocate of women’s rights and wrote extensively on the subject. She challenged traditional gender roles and argued that women had the same capacity for spiritual and intellectual growth as men.

There is much to learn from Madam Blavatsky’s teachings and these wise higher dimensional Masters. In addition to offering guidance and wisdom, they can perform miracles and intervene in the physical world. Some followers of these beliefs seek their assistance for healing, manifestation, and other spiritual purposes.

How Many Are There?

Different beliefs and traditions vary in the number of ascended masters, as it is not fixed. While some systems have a specific number of ascended masters, others have an open-ended count. Nevertheless, the fundamental concept of ascended masters is that they are enlightened beings who have transcended the cycle of reincarnation and are capable of guiding humanity from a higher realm.

Well Known

Some of the well-known Ascended Masters in various spiritual traditions include Jesus, Buddha, Krishna, and Saint Germain. Followers of these beliefs often seek to connect with the Ascended Masters through meditation, prayer, and other spiritual practices, in order to receive their guidance and support on their spiritual path.


I will go into much more detail about each specific Ascended Master in future posts. Furthermore, I’m hoping to shed some light on the benefits they attribute and how we can put them into practice to help ourselves heal, ascend, and come together to raise the vibration of the planet as a whole. As we move into the golden age, the teachings that these ascended beings bring to us will be highly beneficial to us and our planet.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.